Linden Heritage Foundation holds 2016 Meeting of the Board of Directors

linden text logo1The first meeting of the 2016 Board of Directors for the Linden Heritage Foundation was held January 23rd at the Linden Garden Club in Linden, Texas Directors present were: Sam Higdon, Joe B. Lovelace, Sue Lazara, Jana Bounds, John Knapp, Anna Barber, Gail Dorgan, and Kay Stephens.  Jim Jacob and Barbara Teachey participated via Skype.  Ron Calhoun, Kerry Wells, and Susan Whatley were absent.  Acting-President Sam Higdon called for nominations for the election of Officers.  Running unopposed and securing unanimous votes, the following individuals were elected:  President – Sam L. Higdon; Vice-President for Preservation & Education – Sue Morris Lazara; Vice-President for Marketing & Development – Joe B. Lovelace; Vice-President for Information Technologies – James S. (Jim) Jacob; Secretary – John Knapp; and Chief Financial Officer – Jana Bounds.

In accordance with the Bylaws of the Foundation, Directors drew lots to decide their length of term.  The outcome follows:

1-year term – Jana Bounds, Ron Calhoun, James S. Jacob, John Knapp, and Joe Lovelace

2-year term – Gail Dorgan, Sue Lazara, Barbara Teachey, and Susan Whatley

3-year term – Anna Barber, Sam Higdon, Kay Stephens, and Kerry Wells

Following the election of Officers, President Higdon appointed Kay Stephens as Parliamentarian.  Joe B. Lovelace presented a written Consent Amendment to change the wording “Active Membership” to “Individual Membership” in the Bylaws in order to reconcile them with other Foundation membership material.  The matter passed by unanimous consent, which negated the 30-day notice requirement for a change in the Bylaws under Roberts Rules of Order.

A reception for the Charter Members of the Foundation was set for Saturday, April 23, 2016 (Wildflower Trails Weekend) from 5:00 until 6:00 pm at the home of Charter Member Ruth Halleck.  A Hospitality Committee was appointed to assist Halleck.  The members are Anna Barber, Charlotte Bennett Wells, Mary Janet Wells, and Wanda Ayers Burns.  In the event that any of these members are unable to assist, President Higdon will appoint other members.  Higdon then appointed Joe Lovelace, John Knapp, and Sam Higdon to prepare a draft of a certificate to be presented to Foundation Charter Members at the reception.  By unanimous consent, $700 was allocated to cover the cost of printing, packaging, and mailing certificate to those not in attendance which also includes the cost of the reception.

Sue Lazara reported on the Texas Preservation Trust Fund Grant (TPTF Grant) due January 29, 2016.  The grant is available only to buildings which are eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.  If the TPTF Grant application is successful, a more detailed Planning Grant outline, which must include input from a professional preservation architect, must be submitted in April.  Lazara shared that ARCHITEXAS, a Dallas architectural firm who specializes in the preservation work, has expressed an interest in the Firehouse project.  A preliminary bid of $29,500 has been received that covers preparation of full Plans and Specifications.  ARCHITEXAS is the firm who led preparation of the Plans and Specifications for the Cass Count Courthouse’s restoration.  If approved, the TPTF Grant would cover half of the Plans and Specifications fees ($14,750).  The Foundation would raise the remaining half of the money.  Lazara suggested allocating $5,000 towards the Match Fund for the TPTF Fund, with the Foundation raising $10,000 from the business community in the region, should the grant be awarded.  The motion was passed unanimously by the Board.

The subject of Skype and the problems encountered with audio during the January 23rd meeting were discussed.  By consensus of the Directors, it was agreed to conduct experimental meetings to try to solve some of the issues so that remote Directors could participate fully in all future meetings.

The final item on the agenda was to set the next Board of Director’s Meeting for Sunday, March 6, at 7:30 pm CST.  The meeting will be conducted via Skype; and Lazara invited all local members of the Board to gather at her house in order to improve the quality of Skype video by reducing the number of participating links.  President Higdon adjourned the meeting at 4:46 pm.

The Foundation thanks Gail Dorgan for preparing this summary of the Board Meeting based on the recorded minutes.  Official minutes will be posted on our Documents Page after their approval.